Saturday, December 4, 2010

Agnostic Church of America (LLC pending)



So why is the Church going to be an LLC? Because the Church is patriotic and going to pay taxes!

So now I have to develop a business plan and vet a CFO. What? Why? I am smart enough to not trust me with the money.

I already know that I do not want to do conventional fundraising, i.e. no collection plate... or PayPal account. Instead, I'm thinking about merchandising. It would be something like jewelry and t-shirts with Agnostic symbols and sayings. And the goods would be tastefully marketed with very low pressure.

I'm thinking of taking a fairly modest salary, and putting the rest of the money back into the Church. What would the money be used for? I had a good idea this morning, but it escapes me at the moment. What was it? Oh yeah, researching the human need for spirituality, and psychiatric health, and promoting ideas and strategies that support a reality based religion for the purpose of maintaining mental well being.

We may be able to steal some techniques from the Scientologists, but we'll skip the space aliens and the e-meter, and we'll make sure that the economically disadvantaged have easy, free access to all of the information.

It sounds good doesn't it? A reality based religion that respects science and promotes mental health without demanding leaps of faith.

How's that sound? I am open to suggestions.

Agnosticism      Not our father's religion.
Agnostic?         Yeah, I don't know either.
Agnostic           Prove it and I'll believe!          
Agnostic           I'm gambling that God has a sense of humor.
Agnostic           Except during times of high stress.
Agnosticism      The world's greatest disorganized religion

Now if I can find a marketable logo, I will be "off to the races."

No comments:

Post a Comment